Emma Lou Reads

I’ve been toying with the idea of starting a few more series over here, in addition to Bits of Blessings, and one of those is what I like to call Emma Lou Reads. Since one of my goals this year is to read at least one book each month, I thought I could use this series to keep you all updated on the books I’m reading, as well as using it as a way to keep myself accountable!

For this first post, I wanted to gather up a few books that I’m considering reading this year! So, without further ado, some books for you!

The book I’m reading this month is entitled The American Heiress and I’m about half way through it.

9999107

I can’t say that I’m loving it right now. I picked this book based on a quip on the front that said it would be great for anyone suffering from Downton Abbey withdrawal (raises hand). While it is very similar to Downton, I think that I might only be interested in that time period when I’m watching TV or movies, the characters aren’t coming alive for me yet. But! I’ve still got about 200 pages left, so we will see.

Other than a book club with Jess Lively I’m planning to participate in (and am SO excited for!!!) I haven’t assigned books for each month yet. Here are a couple I’m interested in:

Happier at Home by Gretchen Rubin

81487074479578728_7eBqSNtU_c

I read Gretchen’s first novel, The Happiness Project, last year during a rough patch and I LOVELOVELOVE it. It is definitely one of my favorite nonfiction books and I’m looking forward to hearing more from Gretchen in this newest happiness book.

A Year of Biblical Womanhood by Rachel Held Evans

81487074479578746_MOc6AwAd_c

I just came across this book from a list of books Kristen at Rage Against the Minivan posted. One of my most favorite verses from the Bible is describing the ‘ideal woman’ and it says “she is clothed in strength and dignity and she laughs without fear of the future” (Proverbs 31:25). I love the idea of striving to be the woman/wife/mother described in the Bible and someone attempting to follow it word for word for a year sounds incredibly intriguing!!

That’s all I’ve got right now, any suggestions are welcome. And don’t worry, I’ll keep you updated on what I read!

This entry was posted in Emma Lou Reads, Monthly Goals. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

