Bedroom Tour ’13

One of the biggest reasons I started this blog was to document this time in my life, so that in 10 or 15 years I can look back and remember what the first year after college was like, what my crazy mind was thinking and what that dreadful apartment looked like. And trust me, my apartment is dreadful (ask Leah). I live with two lovely girls that I work with, but they don’t exactly share my design tastes. In fact, they don’t have any design tastes. The kitchen is bland and the living room houses an Ikea couch (that was accidentally dyed purple–long story), a papasan chair, and a futon. Basically, it screams HI…WE ARE IN COLLEGE–except, I’m not.

The one space in the entire apartment that is mine, all mine, is my bedroom. And I have poured my heart and soul into making it a space I love and cherish. As I’ll be moving in the next six months, I wanted to make sure I documented this first space that I called my own, because I love it so deeply.

Without further adieu, my bedroom, circa 2013.

DSC_0049

This is the view when you first walk into the space, my deliciously luscious queen sized bed is the dominant feature, with my massive dresser sitting across from it. That beautiful rug you see on the floor was handmade by my mom. She cut up hundreds of gray and white t-shirts into strips and then latch-hooked them all together to create a rug. I LOVE it and cannot wait to take it with me wherever I go from here.

DSC_0043

 

Here is my bed, I have a freakish obsession with maps, you’ll see that they are everywhere. I mean, everywhere in my room. This is the biggest one and the one that started the obsession. My bedspread/pillow shams are from Target.

Directly across from my bed are my dresser and chalkboard.

DSC_0050

 

I got the yellow chair on the left from my boss when she remodeled the bakery, it was originally brown, I painted it pale pink, and then settled on the yellow. I still don’t love the yellow, but I haven’t decided what to do with it yet. The dresser is a hand-me-down from my aunt, it is a workhorse and holds SO MUCH stuff. The chalkboard is a canvas from Michael’s that I spray-painted with chalkboard paint. This wasn’t the best idea ever, when I change the writing the paint fades, but it was a good temporary fix. The suitcase table on the right was a graduation gift from my aunt, she made it for me! I have such creative family members that have blessed me with wonderful objects I plan to keep forever.

DSC_0053

 

To the right of my bed is this storage creation from Ikea. More globes/maps, picture and knickknacks I love.

DSC_0048

 

To the left of my bed is my pride and joy, my picture wall. It is covered from floor to ceiling with pictures of people and things that I love with all my heart. I could write a million posts on that wall, I will definitely be doing a follow-up post about it. Here is the other side of the window:

DSC_0044

 

More maps, more quotes that mean a lot to me, more pictures of people I love.

I have lots of detail posts that I want to follow up with, but this is already so full of pictures that it will be a miracle if someone makes it all the way to the end here. I hope you enjoyed my little tour, I am so proud of the space I have created. I love it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bedroom Tour ’13

  1. Emily says:

    Love the tour and your photo wall. Thanks for the inspiration to make my own apartment more homey!

  2. leah jane says:

    Goodness we would make such a cute apartment…(why does that sound like I’m talking about a baby?) I love your room, can’t wait to see what you do with your next space, wherever it is!

  3. What a cheerful space! I can see why you’re so proud of it, it looks like a wonderful place to relax and dream 🙂

  4. Katie says:

    I love LOVE LOVE LOVE your room. I want go there. Also, I feel so very blessed to still have made it onto that wall and in some of those pictures. You’re so incredible and I look forward to reading your blog EVERY DAY! –I’ve already read all the other posts 🙂 but had to comment on this one.

Leave a Reply

