Emma Lou Loves: Washington, D.C.

Happy Hump Day, chicken nuggets! And welcome to Day 3 of blog makeover week, y’all are the best for visiting me here. Wednesdays will now be known as Emma Lou Loves, sort of a catchall category. I wanted to make sure I had a day to share things that I absolutely love with y’all, whether it is a city, a photographer, a pillow, or just a sweet quote. Wednesdays will be chock full of love!

Last Thursday, I had the opportunity to travel to Washington, D.C. for a job interview. I was giddy, to say the least, about this trip. I adore D.C., it is one of my favorite places in the world. I spent a month there in 2011 taking a summer class and I fell hard for the city. I find it to be a wonderful combination of the big cities I love and the friendliness I cherish in the South. I’m also freakishly patriotic, just ask my brother, so being in our country’s capital really fires me up.

I just love thinking about how many people there are in D.C. that are genuinely working towards improving the lives of others. I know, I know, most people think politicians and lobbyists and basically anyone that lives in D.C. are corrupt and all consumed by money. But remember? I’m an optimist 🙂 I truly believe that there are good people and that many of those good people come to D.C. to change the world. And that is just what I intend to do when I move there at the end of the summer.

IMG_2704

All week long I had been telling my friends that I was going to reward myself with a trip to see my main man, Abe Lincoln, after my interview. So after a 3 hour, early morning interview, I met up with my sweet, sweet friend Kate and we trekked through the cold to my happy place.

IMG_2693

 

Abraham Lincoln stands for so much, to so many different people. But for me, he and his memorial are symbols of hope, love, faith, and just the general awesomeness that is our world. I just love the peace I feel when I’m sitting on those marble steps, staring out at the city and all its people.

And one last shot of my Katie Kate, refusing to smile for the camera, even though she is one of the most beautiful chickens I know (inside and out).

IMG_2708Happy Wednesday friends, may you spend it in a place that sets your heart on fire.

 

This entry was posted in Emma Lou Loves. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Emma Lou Loves: Washington, D.C.

  1. Kate says:

    I love you EmmyLeeeeeeeeeee!! So, so much.

Leave a Reply

