Emma Lou Reads: A Million Miles in a Thousand Years

Day 4 of the new blog reveal, you’ve almost made it through the entire week! One of my goals this year was to read at least one book each month. I love reading but have found myself reading more blogs/magazines, instead of books, in the last few years, and I decided that needed to be remedied. One Thursday each month will be dedicated to the book I’ve read that month, the other three Thursdays will be blogs, magazines, or just any other great thing I’ve read recently. First up, March’s book review.

In March, I finally made my way back to the public library. I have wonderful memories of the library as a child, I think I read almost every book in the Young Adult section of our local library, but after we started having assigned reading in high school, I sort of stopped seeking out new books (aside from Harry Potter, duh). With my new challenge this year, and since I’m on a budget, I decided to rekindle my love affair with the library, and I have to admit, it was a huge success!

IMG_2601I checked out four books, two non-fiction and two novels, and so far I have completed one of them. Slow and steady, right?

I took on Donald Miller’s ‘A Million Miles in a Thousand Years‘ and I have been BLOWN AWAY by Miller’s writing. He is incredible. This year has been all about finding people that are great about communicating their spirituality in a relatable, relevant way and Miller absolutely falls under that category. This book, one of many that he has written, is loosely based on his journey editing his memoir into a movie, but it is so much more. Miller comments on what makes a good story, how to live a good story, and what to do when that story stalls. Two of my all time favorite quotes have come out of this book:

“I’ve wondered, though, if one of the reasons we fail to acknowledge the brilliance of life is because we don’t want the responsibility inherent in the acknowledgement. We don’t want to be characters in a story because characters have to move and breath and face conflict with courage. And if life isn’t remarkable, then we don’t have to do any of that; we can be unwilling victims rather than grateful participants.”

and

“And I smiled. I’m not saying I was happy, but for some reason I smiled. It hurts now, but I’ll love this memory, I thought to myself, and I do.”

I’m telling you, every page of this book is funny, smart, and enlightening. I cannot wait to read Blue Like Jazz and hear more from Miller.

This entry was posted in Emma Lou Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

