Emma Lou Writes: A Love Letter

Happy Monday, chicken noodles! I hope you had wonderful weekends, mine was full of hard work, best friends, a cocktail shower for Leah, a visit to a new church with a dear friend, and a trip or two to Target.

This is the first Monday since I started the new format on the blog that is not focused on MTH, and if I’m being honest, I’m a little bit nervous. I have so many different things I want to discuss and a billion words all jumbled up in my head, so I think I’m just going to go for the first thing that comes to mind.

e8a0542129afc93bafde1b11e935bb89(/)

I was born in the third largest city in North Carolina. A weird little city, not quite a college town (though it is home to 7 colleges and universities), not quite a bustling metropolis, and still not quite a quiet, quaint one stop sign town. In high school, it was basically a rule that you hated our city and couldn’t wait to get out. The thought of going to the local college was a terrible, terrible one. My best friends and I scattered across the country, to other in-state schools, Indiana, New York City, basically anywhere but here. After a year, I returned home (NYC is really freaking expensive when you’re 18) and enrolled in the dreaded local university, I moved back in with my parents, and went back to my high school job.

I’d be lying if I said I was excited. Embarrassed? Check. Lonely? Check. Bitter? Check. I spent a little while wallowing, letting self-pity take me over. But I’m a happy person at heart, the bitterness didn’t last long. I started to invest more at my job and have since met dozens of women who have changed me, each of them teaching me something new. I embraced living at home and have a relationship with my family that I wouldn’t trade for the world. Some wonderful friends welcomed me into their social lives at a nearby school and gave me that real college experience I craved. My senior year, I really fell in love with my school, after falling in love with a boy. I moved into my own apartment (but only two blocks from my family, they just can’t get rid of me). And slowly but surely, without even realizing it, I came to love this city. I love its diversity, its delicious food, its trees, its churches. So many little things make up this city.

And now? This isn’t just the city I was born in. It is the city I was raised in. The city I became a first generation college graduate in. The city the majority of my family lives in. The city my best friends and I will always return to. The city I fell in love in. The city I found God in. It is so, so much more than just the third biggest city in North Carolina, it is home.

This entry was posted in Emma Lou Writes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Emma Lou Writes: A Love Letter

  1. kate says:

    The city I was blessed to meet you in! Love this, love you!

  2. leah jane says:

    This is beautiful, Emmy.

  3. Pingback: Unexpectedly Falling in Love with the Bull City | the organized chicken

Leave a Reply

