Emma Lou Believes In: Herself

I am beautiful. I am smart. I am funny. I am capable. I can change the world.

You know what is so very silly? It took everything in me to type those words out. Not because I don’t believe them, I really do. I had trouble saying it because I didn’t want to sound vain or conceded. I had trouble saying it because our society insists upon making us feel ashamed if we appreciate our own beauty, our own power, our own greatness, our own purpose in life. We feel so much pressure to compare ourselves to others, so much pressure to believe that we are not enough. But we are. I am. You are. We are all enough, we are all fearfully and wonderfully made in His image and it is our responsibility, to ourselves, to each other, to live a powerful, beautiful, all around fantastic life.
DEEPEST-FEAR-LARA-CASEY(/)

Do I sometimes wish I could change things about myself? Absolutely. Could I sit here a list qualities about myself that aren’t my favorite, that most of you have probably never even noticed? Yep. But I am so sick and tired of doing that. I am sick and tired of feeling like all some of my friends want to do is compare our bodies to other girls. Because you know what?

I am beautiful. I love myself.

I love my long, healthy hair. I love my quick sarcasm. I love my height. I love my endless optimism. I love my hips, I wouldn’t ever trade them for a slimmer frame. I love my ability to rap a Kendrick Lamar song and belt out a Carrie Underwood ballad right after. I love my blue eyes and my long eyelashes.  I love how perfectly unique I am.

I know it is difficult for some people to recognize just how utterly fantastic they are. I have been so very blessed to have had people all throughout my life that have continuously reminded me that I am beautiful, in every way. I know not everyone has the support system I have been blessed with, so I’m here today to hopefully reach someone else and remind them that they are beautiful, in every way.

You are beautiful. You smart. You are funny. You are capable. You can change the world.

This entry was posted in Emma Lou Believes In. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Emma Lou Believes In: Herself

  1. This is beautiful 🙂 this makes me so happy

Leave a Reply

