Emma Lou Reads: Love Does

Now, I know I’ve said previously that my favorite books in the entire world are the Harry Potter series, and they are! They are! But…..I have to admit I’ve been cheating on them a little bit with the book I’m going to share with you today.

DSC_0319Love Does by Bob Goff is hands down the best book I’ve read in the last year, and is quite possibly the best book ever. It is funny, light hearted, sweet, endearing, uplifting, encouraging, eye opening, and so many other fantastic adjectives that my mind cannot come up with at the moment.

I think a lot of the reason this book means so much to me is because of the incredible timing surrounding when I started/finished the book. I bought it last summer, in early-July. I was at a great place, I was so incredibly happy with my life and was looking forward to the future, I really thought that things couldn’t get much better. I got about 3/4 of the way through the book and in mid-July my world got rocked and things changed. A LOT. I was really really sad, felt stuck where I was, and to be honest for a while thought things couldn’t get much worse. I stopped reading the book for a few days, but then felt another urge to pick it back up and to start it all over. I just knew this book was meant to help me get through this, what would be the hardest time of my life thus far, and I felt the entire thing deserved to be read in this new light. So I dove in.

DSC_0328And I really poured myself into it. I highlighted, underlined, and wrote notes (and dates) all over the book. The end of last summer/beginning of the fall was a crazy emotional time for me, and being the sentimental person that I am, I knew I’d want to remember it. Even though it was hard and I hated nearly every second of it, I knew that these words I was reading were important and the thoughts I was having meant something.

DSC_0329Bob’s book is essentially about how we love and treat others. Each chapter is a different story from Bob’s life, the most amazing stories, and they all relate back to this attitude he has about how we can each change the world, just by loving each other more.

DSC_0330The chapter above was one of my favorites. Bob is a lawyer, but he looks at his law career as a way of funding his philanthropic endeavors. He and his wife, Sweet Maria, always say that when he has to go off for a deposition or a court date he is really just off on at a fundraising event. I LOVE this attitude. In the chapter entitled “Go Buy Your Books,” Bob talks about how he applied for law school and was flat out rejected by everyone. But he knew this was the path he needed to take so he sat outside the office of the law school every. single. day. until the staff got tired of it (or was just really impressed with his determination) and just told him, “Fine!! Go buy your books!!” I love how persistent he was, and how he hasn’t wasted this amazing gift he was given.

DSC_0332I found myself writing BE KIND on multiple pages, it has become a sort of mantra for me this year.

DSC_0333My favorite quote in the whole book. “That’s one of the things about love. It doesn’t recognize boundaries and never obeys the rules we try to give it.” Yes. Yes. Yes.

DSC_0341A final quote from one of my favorite chapters in the book. It is about a young man who enlisted Bob to help him pull off a grand proposal to his girlfriend. At the end Bob comments on being engaged by saying..

“Being engaged is a way of doing life, a way of living and loving. It’s about going to extremes and expressing the bright hope that life offers us, a hope that makes us brave and expels darkness within light. That’s what I want my life to be all about–full of abandon, whimsy, and in love. I want to be engaged to life and with life.”

I dragged out finishing this book for months and months. I had people ask to borrow it and because I just felt I wasn’t ready to finish it and part with it, I bought them their own copy! And really, that is how it should be. This is the kind of book that will change you, the kind you need to mark up and hold in your hands. I have one person in mind whom I think would enjoy my copy, my crazy little notes. But I’ll have to see if I can part with it myself. After all, Aunt Terri always taught me that books are meant to be shared!

This entry was posted in Emma Lou Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

