Emma Lou Writes: Snap Snap

Details and pictures from Leah and Austen’s wedding to come, I’m still in Chapel Hill this morning but I’ll be writing up a post for Wednesday as soon as I get home!

DSC_0429

When I first started reading blogs, I was drawn to the visual content before the actual written content. Now that I’ve been reading for years and years, I often flock to blogs for the words first, and pictures second, but I still remember looking forward to posts for their beautiful images. So when I started this blog, I scoured Pinterest all the time looking for the best pictures and graphics to include in my posts. I always linked back to the source, so I thought that was good enough.

DSC_0382

But as I’ve put more of myself into this blog and am taking more pride in it, I’ve found myself wanting to generate more of my own images, more of my own visual content. I was blessed to be gifted a DSLR camera for my high school graduation 5 years ago, and while I have taken millions of pictures with it I’ve never really harnessed its full potential. While relaxing in bed on a morning off recently, I reached over to my camera and decided it was high time we get to know each other a little better.

DSC_0428

I did some quick Google searches for tutorials and picked up some basics that I didn’t know about before, and I’m attempting to shoot only in Manual. So wish me luck, I’m aiming for at least 75% original content on the blog from here on out. Bare with me as I work on getting things in focus, finding the right light, and just generally figuring this whole blogging thing out.

DSC_0370

 

Clearly Mowg makes the best model.

This entry was posted in Emma Lou Writes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Emma Lou Writes: Snap Snap

  1. Emily! So far, those shots are great! Yes, loved ones in our lives (animals who don’t complain about getting their picture taken) are usually the best models. Maeby deals with it a lot better than Ben does. Hence: a million photos of Maeby! Seriously though, I’m super looking forward to more of your own original photos. It is something to take pride in, and already your lighting and coloring in your photos look great. Keep it up! Let me know if you need help 🙂

Leave a Reply

